Faster string attacks on BBC Discover?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to sample libraries and DAWs. Using Logic Pro 10.6.3 with BBC Discover on MacBook Air M1.

All things work nicely, but I'd like a bit more attack on especially the strings. As it is now, it takes a while before the full strength and timbre of the note is reached. I'd like more "bite" in the strings from the start of the note. Can I control this in my setup?

Comments

• I don't think it's possible in Discover version but you have such options in some of the LABS strings. Check out the free libraries from there as well, there are lots of strings LABS, from Strings, Strings 2, Frozen Strings, Scary Strings, Synth Strings, Tape Orchestra, Cello Quartet... you name it. Some of them have such options, to modify things like the attack, release, sustain.

I think another option is to layer them, like your normal strings from Discover and shorts from Strings LABS (have that bite you want), as you don't find shorts in Discover.

Another option is to upgrade to Core or Pro, they have way more articulations and options.

• Thanks for the tip! I downloaded LABS Strings and Strings 2 and double-layered them with my BBC Discover violins etc. Didn't like the result, though, it was too sharp an accent on each note and then fade-in of the BBC sound.

So I keep on looking and trying...

• Doc Bob
    edited August 23

Most DAW’s have a way to set a track offset, which can be a negative number. Reaper has it if you click the routing button. I can almost guarantee Logic Pro has it. Choose an offset of anywhere from -20 to -100 msec. The sample will start playing just before the beat and feel like it is right on.

Alternatively, you can drag the whole midi clip a bit to the left and accomplish the same thing.