How do you release your music?

I'm curious how you all release your music? Specifically, when you're creating your own personal music, not something for a gig.

The method I've used for other projects in the past is a full album Bandcamp release and a single on Spotify, followed by a Spotify release a week or two later.

Are there other methods that you've had success with?

Comments

• I’ve been using DistroKid for the past few months, and it’s by far one of the most affordable and transparent service out there to get your music across all platforms. The base subscription is about $20 USD for an entire year to upload unlimited music. There are more expensive options to achieve customization, like changing the name of your “label” etc... but it’s all ropes under a single, yearly, competitively priced fee. I have the $35 USD option and it works beautifully for me.

• I put most stuff on Soundcloud. I don't consider it being "released" in that sense though. I'm still learning the ropes and consider myself being a beginner in every sense of the word. When the day comes (if it ever does) I'll probably release it on a friend's label to not have to think about administrating everything. Or just utilize Soundcloud's service of spreading a release over most online services.

• When I actually have a finished track that I'll want published officially and publicly, I'll probably be using Distrokid. My roommate uses it although he is mostly a songwriter, but it seems to work.

• I always create a video visualization that I upload on YouTube. Then I also upload on SoundCloud and Bandcamp for those interested in buying something.