Making a portion of your song sound "full"

Sai
Sai
First Comment
edited November 22 in Composition and Production

I am still new to arranging/producing. There’s a section in my song that I am trying to making it sound full - I have different elements - ensemble strings patches for mids, choirs for low-mids, eerie strings on the high, and a bass section of an orchestra - I still feel like the section doesn’t sound full enough - I haven’t applied any other effects or plugins but I am trying to see if this is an arrangement decision or a mixing decision that the engineer will take care of later. Obviously, I don’t want to overpopulate a specific range of frequencies at the risk of muddying the whole thing - what are some of the tricks and techniques you use to achieve a ‘full’ sound without muddying it up?

Comments

• @Sai When you say ‘full’, do you mean full sounding from an EQ perspective or spatially full within the stereo field? I’m a novice myself but the answer would differ depending on where you need the fullness.

• Celloman makes a good point, there are a multitude of ways depending on what you are going for.

An audio clip with a description of your intentions would be helpful.

If by engineering you are talking about a mastering process, it is best, in my opinion to leave as little to that as possible. To get the most out mastering it is best when the engineer can do more polishing than repairing since by that point there's only so much you can do.

• @Aaron Moon and @Celloman : Here is an audio clip of the portion - please note that this is not a polished product, it's still at the arrangement stage where I am sound sculpting and I'd like to fix any issues at this stage before I send it to mixing.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/19C0DBcC18jp84AErHQ8n_-ACbR2OyfYj/view?fbclid=IwAR15Eb6BDUEc7bt_VSgJ-AwDibUSVLM4qh0Bcpq8wMoOOO8QIuT6Xm-kNYQ