About instruments, techniques and chords

Thommy
edited November 22 in Composition and Production

Hi!

I'm pretty new to the world of music producing (I'm still trying to learn the circle of 5ths!) and I just bougth the BBCSO plugin and I was wondering what instruments and techniques are not suitable/meant to play chords (to be clear: more than one note at a time) with? I'm going to assume the Timpani is one of those instruments? And legato is one such technique? Is there a site/youtube channel/whatever where I can learn more about this stuff?

Are there anything like weekly/monthly challenges on this forum where ppl make a piece of music based on a theme or a storyboard or something like that?

Comments

• Oh boy this is quite a question.

So you are correct: timpani probably don't play chords with unless you arpeggiate it which should be fine (the musician traditionally only has two arms, so they can only play two notes at a time). Funnily, the other mallet instruments (xylo, vibes, marimba) can do up to 4 notes because they can wedge 4 mallets between their two hands.

The legato articulation won't let you play more than one note at a time (unless you enable polyphonic voicing which let's you do multiple voices based on velocity). So only do one note at a time for legato playing.