Looking for mic suggestions?

Ethan
edited November 22 in Composition and Production

Hey everyone,

I'm a student currently working towards my Music Production degree with a focus on media composition, I'm a huge fan of field recordings but currently I am stuck with a less-than-ideal hand-held recorder and I'm in a position where I'm willing to make a somewhat decent investment in new gear. Around £750-ish.

I've been looking at the C214's by AKG, I saw a stereo pair for sale around £550, which would be great for field recordings and also come in handy for sampling/instrument recording down the line, but I'm hearing mixed reviews.

I've also seen some people recommending a C314, but I'd only be able to get the one for now.

Any recommendations from those a bit more experienced? Would love to hear what you'd have to suggest.

All the best,

Ethan

Comments

• Definitely the 414. For the $ it’s the best mic you’ll have!

• gregoryd
    edited March 23

*definitely not a mic enthusiast or expert or even an audiophile* but for field recordings/sampling I just use a Zoom H6 and it’s been very nice to me. Although it is much cheaper than the mics already listed, so probably not as good.

• For field recordings, I have the Zoom H4N and it's pretty good. I just picked up a Sennheiser MKE600 and it's a great shotgun mic, but not ideal for stereo stuff. Tascam makes a decent recorder for relatively low $$ the DR-70D has 4 xlr ins with 2 built in mics, they're ok.

414's will give you a lot of bang for your buck, but there are a lot of other options coming out as well. I'm not super crazy about 414's, but probably just because I've used them so many times. I haven't heard the WA14 from Warm Audio yet, but I've tried a few others and liked them - the WA84's and 87.

If field recording is your focus, this article has a lot of options: https://www.creativefieldrecording.com/2015/11/18/field-recording-gear-buyers-guide/#microphone