Logic and Reaper

Hello all,

It is likely mostly operator error but I have grown weary of tech issues with Logic. Several of my students have suggested Reaper as an alternative they have enjoyed. I would appreciate any of your ideas on Reaper and any advantages/disadvantages between the two DAW's.

many thanks in advance

John

Answers

• Hello,

It would be difficult for me to compare precisely Reaper with Logic, but I can give you my opinion on Reaper, which I have been using for a good ten years.

I think you can go there with your eyes closed, and with a quick training, you can find all the necessary and even superfluous functions on this software!

Reaper is particularly appreciated for its modularity, its infinite options for adapting to our workflow. Initially, the sensitive point often put forward by opponents is its complex appearance and also its austere interface, a bit like a survival of the old computer world. But I can tell you that once you've tasted all that and spent enough time training, everything becomes clear, fluid and transparent.

I would add (and yet, you see, I am not a sales representative at Reaper) that I have never had the slightest bug, the slightest freeze, the slightest impediment, including on complex mixes.

The program is updated for free at a steady pace.

In short, for a more than reasonable entry price (and even the possibility of testing without time limit), I think we can switch to Reaper without any worries!

Oh yes, there are many video tutorials, perfectly educational, which allow us to take our hands quietly from our first steps.

So, yes, sometimes you feel lost in the middle of an ocean of possibilities, when you take this DAW in hand at first, but I assure you that you end up finding the right swimming rhythm, and even if you don't never uses it to 100% of its possibilities, as is my case, you quickly get used to your little routines allowing you to adapt well to your needs.