new member - greetings spitfire community

Hello,

Looking into the purchase of my first spitfire product(s). Not a composer and not really even a pianist. I'm primarily a guitarist and basically just know enough about playing keyboards to be dangerous. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, I did take piano lessons for a few years when MIDI was first introduced as I quickly realized I'd need to know a bit of keyboard technique to make it useful.

I'm a blues / rock guy but I do love classical music and acoustic fingerstyle (D. Fogelberg, P. Simon, and J. Croce, etc.).

I'm particularly fond of piano instrumentals like this Fogelberg piece.

As such, at this time I don't really need the high end, full blown libraries. I already have a few orchestral products but I'm always looking for something better than I already have which is what led me here.

Near term I'm looking at the originals libraries and possibly BBC SO. Right now I'm using a modified Dell laptop (i7 QC / 16GB / SSD) and I've yet to stress it because my needs for orchestration is rather light in the songs I've composed that are similar to the linked Fogelberg video.

Anyway, I'm planning on eventually upgrading to a desk top PC which will afford me the ability to purchase the larger, full-featured libraries.

As I understand it, certain spitfire libraries require the spitfire app while others require free Kontakt and some require the full sampler version. The only question I have at the moment is whether Kontakt in any of its forms (free or not) is compatible with my DAW (Cubaes Pro)?

Thanks.

Comments

• hey there - welcome to the community - looking forward to hearing your music!! (you're very welcome to post on our new monthly community challenge thread - see elsewhere on the forum - not hard to miss!)

If you are running Cubase pro then you are probably going to be fine with all the Spitfire libraries (they work fine for me and am running Reason 10 - which is considerably less well supported than Cubase). Some thoughts: