Expression Maps OR multiple instances with separated articulations?

The age old question!

For the longest time, I've been told that dedicated tracks for different articulations is the way to go, but never got a straight answer as to why this method is beneficial. I assume it has something to do with gain staging articulations, to make sure they're all are running at a uniform gain; or sending longs and shorts to different strength reverb busses (according to one of the many Christian Henson videos I saw way back). Expression mapping just seems to be a way easier method of composing. According to his YouTube Cubase template tutorials, JunkieXL apparently works with expression maps, but every other person I talk to tells me that that is just "not the way". I just migrated over to Cubase from Reaper, and I'm dying to know the way.

For background: I'm relatively new to the orchestral scoring world. I'm a student who scores short films, so everything is done "in the box", meaning I don't have the luxury (or budget) to hire musicians to re-record things. Luckily, I have these awesome sounding libraries from Spitfire Audio to help me out with realistic samples. 😄

Comments

• I use expression mapping because I use the score editor a lot (it is just more efficient than piano roll when you've been reading music all your life). It makes sense to have the whole instrument part on one line, and to see the articulation changes. Imagine a legato run which has to end with a few staccato notes. You wouldn't want to have that split over two separate tracks.

I use TouchOSC Mk 1 on my iPad to allow quick articulation switching and I've amended some of Babylon Waves' expression maps (and articulation sets) to ensure that a single page on my TouchOSC app covers all the articulations of a particular library.